. . . .

FanSoccer

Das Frauenfußball-Magazin



Women football international

Jordan, the number one in the Arab region

Ein Blick auf die beste arabische Frauenfußball-Nationalmannschaft, ihre Visionen, Wünsche und Zukunftspläne

Report and interview from Marion Kehren

>> Deutsche Version

January 24, 2010    The number one in the ranking of the Arab world (current FIFA ranking 52, Asia-ranking position 12) had been made much! For the first time in Jordan's history the women's national team wanted to establish the qualification for the finals of a World Cup. But, unfortunately it did not work and the footballers must once again take, at the upcoming World Cup in Germany, the viewers role.

But the team needs not to be ashamed on the lost chances. The Jordanian women's national team is much better and ahead than some other national teams in the Arab world. It seemed at its inception in the year 2005 to be not so clear. But sceptics were quickly disabused. In their first competition at the Asian Indoor Soccer Championships Jordan finished right away in third place and in the years 2005 and 2007 proved the ladies of the Hashemite Kingdom of even place 1 in the West Asian Championships (WAFF - West Asian Football Federation Championship).

Hallensieger Jordanien

Great joy of the Jordanian team, when they back up again the indoor soccer championship

Photo: Archiv Stephanie Mazen Al Naber

Whether playing futsal, at invitation tournament, Asian Championships, the women and girls national football teams of Jordan are everywhere found. Star of the national team is Stephanie Mazen Al Naber, the only Jordanian woman who´s playing football in a foreign league and has a professional contract. The 22-year-old midfielder is engaged in the service of the Danish Cup Winner and Master Fortuna Hjørring. But also the young 20-year-old striker Ziad Maysa Jbara now sends her dream into action and wants to play in Europe and is already on the lookout for a suitable club.

Training Center

Talent Training Center for girls in Amman

Photo: (Privatarchiv Monika Staab)

Jordan is very focused for decades on the West and it shows also quickly to the cessation of the families who are mighty proud that their daughters, wives and sisters are playing football. Only a few players kick with the traditional hijab, with a headscarf and long, wide jogging pants. Most of them are either going to school or students and have thereby the opportunity to focus on the sport.

A large role in the emancipation of women increases with certainty through the wife of King Abdullah II (Abdullah bin al-Hussein), Queen Rania al-Yasin, better known as "Rania of Jordan". She is regarded as the "Lady Di" of the Middle East and is heavily involved in issues of women and children, especially for equal rights and education.


Frauenfußball Nationalmannschaft Jordanien 2009

The topical cadre (2009) of the Jordanian women national team

Photo: Archiv Stephanie Mazen Al Naber

Many of them would know her better as patron of the CHIO in Aachen, but not later than granting with the award of Bambi in 2007. Only a few weeks ago Rania was also honoured for her commitment to the campaign "1GOAL - Education for All" at the FIFA World Player Gala 2009 with the FIFA Presidential Award.

It is unfortunately still in the funds to promote the national football team and the local league enough. So there is still a search to find a large, financially strong sponsor for the league, because only sponsored by the money of the Asian Association of AFC is that not possible. The Jordanian Association JFA supports the women's as good as they can, they did not wait long on the initial successes.

name

L.t.r.: Khalil Al Salem (General Secretary of the Jordanian Football Association), Monika Stab (FIFA-Consultant), Reema Ramoniah (Jordanian National Player and Administrator) and Rana Husseini (Women Committee)

Photo: (Privatarchiv Monika Staab)

Of course, there are different views in terms of women - football - budget - religion, etc., but Jordan is showing a lot more cosmopolitan, because of its geographical position has caused the land of many different religions and living standards.

name

Visit to the Mayor of Amman, in order to discuss ways of improving the joint cooperation for the benefit of women's football. Left to right: Monika Staab, Rana Husseini, Amer Al Basheer (Deputy Mayor of Amman) and Reema Ramoniah

Photo: (Privatarchiv Monika Staab)

The success of the senior national team and the youth can be proud of. Thus, Jordan also has a U-19, U-16 and U-14 girl´s selection. In addition, the association maintains four talent-


training camps in which up to 25 to 30 players have the opportunity to combine school and football.

"Jordan has made in recent years, extreme progress," said the FIFA Consultant Monika Staab. "Now is the time to make it clear to the clubs, that men's clubs also include a wife teams in their ranks. This would at least ensure that consolidated structures and could be a better financial base for the women's section. Thanks to various support including the AFC, till yet it was possible to establish five full-time coaches for various youth national teams and for the A-team itself. Also the Jordanian Association has now since some time two full-timers who take care of the administrative activities.

Logo

Concerning the local league (founded also in 2005) there are currently 8 teams (divided into two groups) who are fighting for the Championship. At the end of the season the top two clubs in each group k.o. - System plays each other. The winner will be automatically adorned with the title Jordanian Champion. In the last 5 years won only the Shabab Al Ordon Club, based in Amman, the Championship and underlines its exceptional position in women football. On the second and third places followed in the last season of the Orthodox Club and Club of Amman, also both from the capital. To the great surprise, it is not uncommon that up to 500 spectators travel to their respective championship games!

There is still much to be done, but the Jordanian Association is on the way pressing the women football - and who knows, maybe one day there is the possibility for the girls and women to leave the heavy competition from Asia behind.

I would like to thank especially to Monika Staab (FIFA consultant) and Reema Ramoniah (Jordanian national goalkeeper and Administrator at the Jordanian Football Association) for their support and feedback, without their help this report would never have arisen.


Zum Frauenfußball International

Zur FanSoccer-Startseite

. . . .

FanSoccer

Das Frauenfußball-Magazin



Frauenfußball international

Jordanien, die Nummer eins im arabischen Raum

Ein Blick auf die beste arabische Frauenfußball-Nationalmannschaft, ihre Visionen, Wünsche und Zukunftspläne

Reportage und Interview von Marion Kehren

>> English Version

24.01.2010   Viel vorgenommen hatte sich die Nummer eins der Rangliste (aktuell FIFA-Rangliste Platz 52, Asien-Rangliste Platz 12) im arabischen Raum! Zum ersten Mal in der jordanischen Geschichte wollte sich die Frauennationalmannschaft für die Endrunde einer WM qualifizieren. Aber leider hat es nicht geklappt und so müssen die Kickerinnen bei der kommenden Weltmeisterschaft in Deutschland wieder einmal die Zuschauerrolle einnehmen.

Doch schämen muss sich das Team nicht um die vergebene Chance. Die jordanische Nationalmannschaft der Frauen ist um Längen manch anderer Nationalmannschaft im arabischen Raum voraus. Dabei schien dies bei ihrer Gründung im Jahre 2005 noch gar nicht so klar zu sein. Doch schnell wurden Zweifler eines Besseren belehrt. Bei ihrer ersten Teilnahme an den asiatischen Hallenfussball-Meisterschaften belegte Jordanien auf Anhieb den dritten Platz und in den Jahren 2005 und 2007 belegten die Damen vom Haschemitischen Königreich sogar Platz 1 bei den West-Asienmeisterschaften (WAFF - West Asian Football Federation Championship).

Hallensieger Jordanien

Große Freude beim jordanischen Team, als sie sich zum wiederholten Male die Hallenfußballmeisterschaft sichern

Bild: Archiv Stephanie Mazen Al Naber

Egal ob beim Futsal, bei Einladungsturnieren, Asienmeisterschaften, die Frauen- und Mädchennationalmannschaften Jordaniens sind überall vorzufinden. Star der A-Nationalmannschaft ist Stephanie Mazen Al Naber, die einzige Jordanierin, die in einer ausländischen Liga kickt und zudem über einen Profivertrag verfügt. Die 22-jährige Mittelfeldspielerin steht seit einem Jahr im Dienste des dänischen Meisters und Pokalsiegers Fortuna Hjørring. Auch die junge 20-jährige Stürmerin Maysa Ziad Jbara schickt sich nun an ihren Traum in die Tat umzusetzen und in Europa spielen zu wollen und ist bereits auf der Suche nach einem geeigneten Verein.

Training Center

Talent Training Center für Mädchen in Amman (rechts im Bild FIFA-Beraterin Monika Staab)

Bild: (Privatarchiv Monika Staab)

Jordanien ist seit Jahrzehnten sehr am Westen orientiert und das merkt man auch schnell an der Einstellung der Familien, die mächtig stolz darauf sind, dass ihre Töchter, Ehefrauen und Schwestern Fußball spielen. Nur wenige Spielerinnen kicken mit den traditionellen Hidschab, also mit Kopftuch und langen, weiten Jogginghosen. Die meisten von ihnen sind entweder Schülerinnen oder Studentinnen und haben dadurch vermehrt die Möglichkeit sich auf den Sport zu konzentrieren.

Eine große Rolle in der Emanzipation der Frau nimmt mit Sicherheit die Ehefrau von König Abdullah II (Abdullah bin al-Hussein), Königin Rania al-Yasin, besser bekannt als „Rania von Jordanien” ein. Sie gilt als die „Lady Di” des Nahen Ostens und engagiert sich


Frauenfußball Nationalmannschaft Jordanien 2009

Der aktuelle Kader (2009) der jordanischen Frauen-Nationalmannschaft

Bild: Archiv Stephanie Mazen Al Naber

besonders Belange der Frauen und Kinder, insbesondere für Gleichberechtigung und Bildung.

Vielen dürfte sie im Übrigen als Schirmherrin des CHIO in Aachen ein Begriff sein, spätestens aber mit der Verleihung des Bambis im Jahre 2007. Erst vor wenigen Wochen wurde Rania zudem für ihr Engagement bei der Kampagne „1GOAL - Bildung für Alle” bei der FIFA World Player Gala 2009 mit dem FIFA Presidential Award ausgezeichnet.

Um die Nationalmannschaft und den hiesigen Ligabetrieb ausreichend zu fördern fehlt es leider immer noch an den finanziellen Mitteln. So ist man schon seit geraumer Zeit auf der Suche nach einem großen, finanzstarken Sponsor der die Liga finanziert; denn nur aus dem Geldtopf des asiatischen Verbandes AFC ist dies nicht möglich.

name

V.l.n.r.: Khalil Al Salem (Der Generalsekretär des jordanischen Verbandes); Monika Staab (FIFA-Beauftragte), Reema Ramoniah (Jordanische Nationaltorhüterin und Administratorin beim Verband) und Rana Husseini (Frauenbeauftragte)

Bild: (Privatarchiv Monika Staab)

Der jordanische Verband JFA unterstützt den Frauenfußball so gut es geht und lange hat man auf die ersten Erfolge nicht warten müssen. Natürlich gibt es auch hier unterschiedliche Auffassungen in Punkto Frauen – Fußball – Haushalt – Religion usw., doch zeigt sich Jordanien um einiges weltoffener; denn bedingt durch seine geographische Lage unterhält das Land viele unterschiedliche Religionen und Lebensstandards.

name

Besuch im Bürgermeisteramt von Amman zwecks Gesprächen über Möglichkeiten zur Verbesserung der gemeinsamen Zusammenarbeit zum Wohle des Frauenfussballes. V.l.n.r.: Monika Staab, Rana Husseini, Amer Al Basheer (stellver. Bürgermeister) und Reema Ramoniah

Bild: (Privatarchiv Monika Staab)

Die Erfolge bei der A-Nationalmannschaft und bei den Jugendmannschaften können sich sehen lassen. So verfügt Jordanien zudem über eine U-19, U-16 und U-14 Mädchenauswahl. Des Weiteren unterhält der Verband vier Talent-Trainingscamps, in denen bis zu 25 - 30


Spielerinnen die Möglichkeit haben, Schule und Fußball miteinander zu verbinden.

„Jordanien hat in den letzten Jahren extreme Fortschritte gemacht”, so die FIFA-Beraterin Monika Staab. „Jetzt ist es an der Zeit, den Vereinen klar zu machen, dass Männerclubs auch Frauenteams in ihre Reihen aufnehmen sollten. Damit wäre zumindest gewährleistet, das gefestigte Strukturen und eine bessere finanzielle Basis dem Frauenfußball zu Teil werden könnte. Dank diverser Unterstützungen u.a. durch den AFC war es bis dato möglich, fünf Vollzeittrainer für die diversen Jugend-Nationalmannschaften und die A-Mannschaft zu etablieren. Dazu verfügt der Jordanische Verband seit geraumer Zeit über zwei Vollzeitkräfte, die sich um die administrativen Tätigkeiten kümmern.

Logo

Das Logo des Fußballverbandes von Jordanien

Was den Ligabetrieb (ebenfalls 2005 gegründet) betrifft, so existieren zurzeit 8 Mannschaften (aufgeteilt in zwei Gruppen), die um die Meisterschaft kämpfen. Am Ende der Saison spielen die beiden besten Vereine jeder Gruppe im K. o. - System gegeneinander. Der Sieger darf sich mit dem Titel Jordanischer Meister schmücken. In den letzten 5 Jahren gewann ausschließlich der Shabab Al Ordon Club aus Amman die Meisterschaft und unterstreicht damit seine Ausnahmestellung im Frauenfußball Jordaniens. Auf den Plätzen zwei und drei folgten in der letzten Saison der Orthodox Club und der Amman Club, ebenfalls beide aus der Hauptstadt. Zur großen Überraschung ist es nicht selten, dass bis zu 500 Zuschauer zu den jeweiligen Meisterschaftsspielen anreisen!

Es gibt noch viel zu tun, aber der Jordanische Verband ist auf dem besten Wege, den Frauenfußball voran zu treiben – und wer weiß, vielleicht gibt es eines Tages doch die Möglichkeit für die Mädchen und Frauen, die große Konkurrenz aus Asien hinter sich zu lassen.

Bedanken möchte ich mich besonders bei Monika Staab (FIFA-Beraterin) und Reema Ramoniah (Jordanische Nationaltorhüterin und Administratorin beim Jordanischen Fußball-Verband) für die Unterstützung und das Feedback; denn ohne ihre Hilfe wäre diese Reportage nie entstanden.


Zum Frauenfußball International

Zur FanSoccer-Startseite